My own “night after night”

I didn’t realize until I heard Steve Smith speak yesterday that his blog, Night After Night, started as an Andrew-Porter inspired journal of his daily experiences attending concerts.  Wow! I thought.  That’s what I’ve been doing with the “SJ” (for Sabbatical Journal) entries here.  I got thrown off with a week of other writing/research projects, so there’s a lot to catch up on–including the Tune-In Music Festival, a TullyScape concert, and the Music of Now Marathon.  Sigh.  Whenever I think I’m going to write a short quick entry, it ends up taking three times what I anticipated–especially when inserting links.

Which is all to say that I’m just going to start fresh, and work in reflections on those events mentioned above as I can.  So here goes.

Last night I went to City Winery to hear the legendary guitarist Leo Kottke.  It’s a beautiful venue–a wine bar and restaurant (surprise!) with a nice stage and great sound system.  Of course, I had never even heard of Kottke, given my general ignorance of music outside the classical and cello-improv traditions.  I enjoyed his ease with his instruments, his self-deprecating banter, and even his instrutions to the sound guy.  His stage presence reminded me a bit (just a bit) of Jeff Bridges playing Bad Blake in Crazy Heart.  The friend I went with, a Kottke fan, pointed out the parents who had brought children to hear the legend.  That’s nice.  Very nice.

Tonight’s a crazy twofer.  First the 7:30 PM Chris Thile and Gabriel Kahane [le] poisson rouge show, then a dash uptown for Turtle Island Quartet: The Hendrix Project at Symphony Space.

OK, this took just 20 minutes and I’m off to the Village for show #1.  I’ll let you know how it all turns out.  And I’ll probably sleep in tomorrow.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “My own “night after night”

  1. Whenever I think I’m going to write a short quick entry, it ends up taking three times what I anticipated–especially when inserting links.

    The bane of blogging! If only we could insert links by thought rather than by fingers!

Leave a Reply

