Leon Fleisher and Jaime Laredo Tonight at the 92nd St. Y

Wow!  Leon Fleisher and Jaime Laredo are giving a recital of Bach (the Brahms left-hand arrangement of the Chaconne, and “Sheep May Safely Graze”) and Schubert (Sonatinas in G and A minor and the “Grand Duo” Sonata in A major) tonight at the 92nd St. Y here in New York (one of the most important mainstream classical recital/chamber music venues).

When I was a student at Peabody in the late 1970s, graduating in 1980, I was coached by Mr. Fleisher a number of times, since I often played with one of his piano students.  And I was the principal cellist of the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra during his final three or four seasons as Music Director.  I haven’t seen or heard him in person for over 25 years now, so I’ve changed my plans for the evening and am planning to head over to the East Side and give myself the treat of hearing this beloved former teacher and admired maestro.  It will be really something to hear him make music with an artist like Jamie Laredo–who I’ve never heard in concert.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

